October 03, 2022

Distinguished Alumni Award recipientsThe Catholic University of America Columbus School of Law (Catholic Law) is honored to have such a supportive and committed alumni base. Our alumni are an active part of the Catholic Law community and share a commitment to academic achievement and the pursuit of justice, mercy, and humble service. Our alumni find ways to engage with the Law School for the benefit of our current students and our community.

Each year, Catholic Law recognizes and honors its distinguished alumni. The purpose of these annual alumni awards is to recognize outstanding alumni for their individual achievements, contributions to their industries or professions, service to their community, and demonstrated loyalty to Catholic Law. The recipients represent a talented group of individuals who have contributed to their professions and the communities they serve and are selected from those celebrating their reunion year. 

Catholic Law is excited to announce the 2022 Distinguished Alumni Award recipients.

William Callyhan Robinson Alumni Award

Robert Bundelman Jr. ’62
Managing Partner, Sedgwick Deter Moran & Arnold (Retired)

Larry Pilot ’67
Attorney at Law


The Columbus School of Law Distinguished Alumni Award

Scott Flesch ’97
Army Chief Trial Attorney, Contract Litigation & Intellectual Property Division, U.S. Army Legal Services Agency

Michael Heyl ’02
Partner, Global Regulatory Group, Hogan Lovells

Andrew Palmieri ’87
Partner, Real Estate Group, Saul Ewing LLP

John Wefing ’67
Distinguished Professor of New Jersey Law and History Emeritus, Seton Hall University School of Law


The Distinguished Public Service Award 

Christine Goo ’07
Assistant United States Attorney, The District of Maryland

Andrea Vavonese ’97
Incoming Deputy General Counsel, Peraton 

Denise Whisenhunt ’97
Chief Executive Officer, Grossmont Community College


The Distinguished Recent Alumni Award

Denise Giraudo ’07
Partner, Sheppard Mullin

Joseph Saka ’07
Senior Counsel, Lowenstein Sandler LLP


Click here to view past award recipients.