Seigenthaler-Sutherland Cup National First Amendment Moot Court Competition


About the Competition

The Moot Court Association Board of the Columbus School of Law cordially invites law schools from across the country to apply to compete in the 2023 Seigenthaler-Sutherland Cup National First Amendment Moot Court Competition on Friday and Saturday, March 22-23, 2024.

Beginning in 1949, the SSC is the oldest national moot court competition in the United States of its kind and welcomes competitors from across the country. The competition presents hypothetical appellate cases based on a variety of contemporary constitutional issues related to the First Amendment. In the past, the competition has contemplated situations such as political activity on social media, free speech on college campuses, high school dress codes, and national vaccine mandates.

The competition is hosted by Catholic Law’s Moot Court Board and co-sponsored by The Catholic University of America’s Center for Religious Liberty. 

Registration opens at 12:00 PM EST, Monday, September 18, 2023. Registration will close at 11:59 PM EST, Wednesday, October 18, 2023.

Click here to view Important Dates

The Intent-to-compete (registration) form can be found here

DateMarch 22-23, 2024


Click here for Competition Rules

Click here for 2023 Competition results

Past Competitions have been Judged by Supreme Court Justices Including:

     Justice Harold Burton

     Justice Hugo L. Black

     Justice Tom C. Clark

     Justice Potter Stewart

     Justice Thurgood Marshall

     Justice Byron R. White