February 20, 2023

USNS John Lewis T-AO-205Daniel Johnson (3L)  from The Catholic University of America Columbus School of Law, joined students from the American University Washington College of Law, Georgetown Law, and George Washington Law, on Friday, February 10, for a naming ceremony hosted by the Secretary of the Navy and the Department of the Navy at the Supreme Court of the United States. The event celebrated the naming of two John Lewis-class replenishment oilers after Justice Thurgood Marshall and Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg. (USNS John Lewis T-AO-205 pictured)

The event opened with a keynote address from Associate Justice Elena Kagan. Remarks were also made by John P. Coffey, General Counsel of the Navy, and Thurgood Marshall Jr, son of the late Supreme Court Justice Thurgood Marshall. Also in attendance were Associate Justice Amy Coney Barrett and Associate Justice Ketanji Brown Jackson.

Law students had an opportunity to speak with such notable leadership figures as Vice Adm. Darse E. "Del" Crandall, Judge Advocate General, Rear Adm. Christopher C. French, Deputy Judge Advocate General, and Catholic University Alumnus Cmdr. Joseph T. Griffo, Deputy Director of Legislation and Policy, Navy Office of Legislative Affairs.