February 26, 2019

The Moot Court Association and Law & Technology Institute of The Catholic University of America, Columbus School of Law, together in partnership with the Federal Communications Bar Association (FCBA) were proud to host and sponsor the 25th Annual National Telecommunications and Technology Moot Court Competition (NatTel) on February 15-16, 2019, at the Columbus School of Law in Washington, D.C.

The competition featured 12 teams from law schools across the world. The schools who competed were: • University of Richmond, T.C. Williams School of Law • University of Colorado Law School • Duquesne University School of Law (two teams) • New York Law School • University of Cincinnati College of Law • The Catholic University of America Columbus School of Law • Ohio State University, Moritz College of Law/University of Maryland, Francis King Carey School of Law (joint team) • St. Mary's University School of Law • Howard University School of Law • George Washington University Law School • Université Paris-Sud (Paris XI)

These teams competed before experienced communications and technology law practitioners. The teams addressed current topics in communications and technology law, along with aspects of election and constitutional law.

The Best Overall team in the 25th Annual NatTel Moot Court Competition was Stephen Conley and Christa Nicols from the George Washington University Law School. New York Law School, consisting of Abigail Viernes, Nancy Yang, and Felicia Belli, was the Runner-up. NYLS also took home the award for Best Brief. Annie McClellan of the University of Cincinnati College of Law won the award for Best Oralist.

The competition also featured its first ever international team, Nikita Bogomolov and Lucille Roux, from Université Paris-Sud's DAST Program in France. This team demonstrated great perseverance and ambition to learn U.S. law while competing in this competition.

The Vice Chancellors of the 25th Annual NatTel Moot Court Competition, Peter Kim (2L) and Matthew Harkins (2L), would like to give special thanks to FCBA Committee member Danielle Thumann for writing a fantastic problem, with help from election law expect Brad Deutsch. Additionally, the Vice Chancellors give special thanks to all judges, including those for the final round: Lee Petro, Andy Schwartzman, and Brad Deutsch.