April 25, 2017

Initiated by the Law School's Board of Visitors in 2013 to honor then new dean, Daniel F. Attridge, the Dean's Dinner has become an important spring tradition at CUA Law as a means of raising scholarship donations for students. This year's event was held at the Cosmos Club in Washington, D.C. where there was a reception and dinner featuring keynote remarks from Daniel M. Gallagher, Jr.,'99, the former Commissioner of the Securities and Exchange Commission and newly announced Chief Legal Officer of Mylan N.V., a global pharmaceutical company.

Commissioner Gallagher was highly regarded in the industry for his innovative approach, his willingness to seek compromise and his broad grasp and investigation of issues confronting the securities markets. During his tenure at the SEC, he focused on initiatives aimed at strengthening the U.S. capital markets and encouraging capital formation. As commissioner, he called for reform on various corporate governance issues, advocated for conducting a comprehensive holistic review of equity market structure issues, and encouraged building the Commission's fixed income market expertise.

In his remarks, Gallagher described his experience as a CUA Law evening student and the sense of community and support he received from the Law School.

Gallagher shared some stories about his early Securities Exchange Commission work that involved helping people who had been victims of fraud, which he found very rewarding. He relayed stories about the bailout of 2008. He and his wife were supposed to go sailing on a Saturday, but he was called to New York City. He ended up staying there from Saturday to the following Thursday bailing out Lehman Brothers and Bear Stearns and spent countless hours in New York court.

This year's Dean's Dinner guests included members of the Law School's Board of Visitors; members of the Law School's Alumni Council; distinguished law school alumni; and a number of the dean's family members, friends and colleagues of these individuals. In addition, select faculty members and students were sponsored to attend.

Agnes P. Dover '81, chair of the Board of Visitors and Partner at Hogan Lovells LLP, delivered welcoming remarks and offered the invocation. Thomas D. Yannucci, former chair of the Board of Visitors and Partner at Kirkland & Ellis LLP, also thanked CUA Law Professor Cara Drinan for her pro bono work with him and his colleagues on behalf of Ivan Teleguz. Yannucci announced that Virginia Governor Terry McAuliffe commuted Teleguz's execution sentence.

In his closing remarks, Dean Attridge emphasized the importance of scholarships in recruiting and thanked the donors for positively contributing to students' futures with their gifts. Scholarships make a huge impact on their recipients, making CUA Law more affordable and accessible to students. Please click here to learn more about scholarships at CUA Law.

The following alumni and friends contributed to the success of this event:

2017 Sponsors, Hosts, and Contributors

Named Scholar Benefactors $10,000
Thomas D. Yannucci, Esquire

Table Sponsors $5,000
Dean Daniel F. Attridge and Missy Attridge
Agnes P. Dover, 1981 (two tables)
J. Michael Hannon, 1980
Jeffrey S. Puretz, 1981
Alumni Council - James C. Anagnos, 1996, Christopher R. Bjornson, 2000, Sean M. Flaim, 2012, Jennifer A. Mahar, 1995, Edward J. McAndrew, 1995, Stanley E. Woodward Jr., 2008

Hosts $1,000
The Honorable Patrick J. Attridge and Teresa Attridge
John G. Carberry, 1973
Robert T. Colleran, 1969
Christopher H. Collins, 1978
Christopher Concannon, 1994
Michael A. Curto, 1983
Edward J. Dempsey, 1970
Anne M. Donohue, 1998
Donald W. Farley, 1969, and Jo-Ann Farley
Suellen M. Ferguson, 1977, and James P. Ulwick, 1977
Arthur N. Fuccillo, 1978
Karen L. Grubber, 1992
John E. Higgins Jr., Esquire
Kathy L. John, 1979, and Kenneth E. John
C. Michael Loftus, 1973
Jane W. Molloy, 1965, and J. Paul Molloy, 1965
Susan L. O'Connell, 1983, Edward O'Connell and Daniel B. O'Connell, 2016
Lawrence R. Radanovic, 1963, and Deirdre Radanovic
Warren A. Schneider, 1962
Richard A. Shapack, 1976
John M. Skenyon, 1973
Kevin P. Tighe, 1969

Contributors $500
Christopher Bjornson
Douglas G. Bonner III, 1983
Philip D. Brady, Esquire
Peter J. Chepucavage, 1974
Thomas J. Gagliardo, 1974
Mary Anne Gibbons, 1980
Professor David P. Lipton
Peggy Love, 1988
James E. McDonald, 1969
Bruce R. Parker, 1978
Mark Reinhardt, 1971
Joseph Saka, 2007
Janet St. Amand, Esquire
S. Jenell Trigg, 1997
Mark Tuohey III, Esquire
Bill Warren

Student and Faculty Sponsors $250
James C. Anagnos, 1996, and Jennifer A. Mahar, 1995
James M. Breen, 1968
Mark Cowan, 1977
Christine S. Davis, 1999
Agnes P. Dover, 1981 (two faculty)
Donald W. Farley, 1969
Karen L. Grubber, 1992
Kathy John, 1979
Vincent A. Lacovara III, 1979
Priscilla A. Schwab, 1981
Martin Weissman
Richard C. White, 1994
Professor Emeritus Harvey L. Zuckman