Home Page Catholic University, Columbus School of Law website
CUA Law e-newsletter header
Alumni AccomplishmentsFaculty ActivitiesStudent Achievements


Dear CUA Law Family and Friends,

This is the final newsletter of the 2011-2012 academic year, and also my final one as dean of the law school. After seven gratifying years, a period during which we made much important progress, it is time for me to turn a new chapter in my life. I look forward to a year's sabbatical and then returning to the faculty as a professor able to indulge my first love, teaching.

Professor George E. Garvey, currently our Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, has generously agreed to serve as acting dean beginning in July as our search committee works to identify the best candidate to lead our law school forward in the future.

It is nice to conclude my tenure on an "up" note. Despite the well-documented challenges facing legal education these days, conditions that certainly affect the Columbus School of Law, we are nonetheless moving in a positive direction on many fronts. I hope you will take the time to read through this newsletter for more details, and also peruse the latest issue of CUA Lawyer: "An International Draw - The Global Growth of CUA Law."

The 2012 Commencement ceremony on May 25 was graced by inspiring remarks from Daniel M. Gallagher, Class of 1999, who was appointed last fall as a commissioner on the Securities and Exchange Commission. Commissioner Gallagher is the first CUA law alumnus to serve in this prestigious position, and our students were clearly fired up by yet another example of a law school alumnus who has excelled in his chosen field.

Our students continue to represent the law school with outstanding results, particularly in moot court and trial competitions, which offer some of the most effective venues for demonstrating to the larger world of legal education just how accomplished they are. For example, our Vis Moot Court Arbitration team had a season that can truly be called remarkable.

As always, our faculty has contributed significantly to both the law school and the greater legal community, including our two most recent legal programs held at the National Press Club: "Retirement Readiness," organized by Professor Regina Jefferson, and "Religious Liberty in 2012: Still the First Freedom?" organized by Professor Mark Rienzi.

I also want to thank you for your support of the law school, our students, faculty, and many programs through your willingness to serve as mentors and to participate in our co-curricular activities. As I have shared with you many times, it has been a continual challenge to offer the kind of financial scholarships that attract and retain the most talented students. Because of your financial support, I am pleased to share with you that we will be able to offer new and expanded financial scholarships to students in the future.

The first is the Professor Harvey L. Zuckman Scholarship Fund, which is now eligible for award distributions this coming academic year. Many thanks go out to our communications law alumni who helped raise over $100,000 for the Zuckman Fund in conjunction with the May 1st Milestone Award ceremony honoring the Hon. Richard E. Wiley, for his exemplary support of our Institute for Communications Law Studies and overall achievements in the field of communications law.

The second is the Securities Program Scholarship Fund, which recently received a matching challenge grant from Paul Serini and his wife Susan. Mr. Serini is a 1983 alumnus of the law school. The Serinis have committed to a $50,000 matching gift for a total potential yield of $100,000. These scholarship funds will assist 2L and 3L students who are at the top of their class and who have committed to pursue the securities law program.

And finally, to my surprise and delight, members of our Board of Visitors established a new scholarship in my name (the Dean Veryl V. Miles Scholarship Award). The "cornerstone donors" are Ed (1970) and Eileen Dempsey, with a gift of $100,000. The "endowment builders" are J. James Gallagher (1968), Lawrence P. Grassini (1970), Jeffrey R. Moreland (1970), and Larry R. Pilot (1967), each with a pledge of $25,000. I can think of no greater honor than to have this scholarship associated with my deanship, and I will always be grateful to all of the donors.

Again, I thank you for your support over the past seven years. It has been a pleasure and privilege to serve as dean of our beloved alma mater.

With best wishes,

Veryl V. Miles
Dean and Professor of Law

Contact usUnsubscribeLinkedinFacebookColumbus School of Law websiteTwitter Home Page