The Catholic University of America
Bar Exam Preparation: General Information

Office of Academic Affairs | Bar Exam Preparation


Bar admission is regulated by each state's board of bar examiners. Bar requirements are state-specific and vary from state to state. It is important to check the requirements for the jurisdiction in which you plan to practice law.

  • National Conference of Bar Examiners
    The National Conference of Bar Examiners (NCBE) is the organization that provides the test components that make up all, or some, of the bar exam (depending on where you sit for the exam). The NCBE site contains a wealth of information and should be at the top of your bar prep resource list.
  • NCBE Jurisdiction Information
    This map contains links to bar admission agencies and bar requirements for all jurisdictions.
  • NCBE Bar Admissions Guide
    This publication is produced annually by the NCBE in collaboration with the ABA. It contains current information on bar admission requirements in all U.S. jurisdictions, including a directory of state bar admission agencies. It is available in pdf for free at the link above.
  • ABA Bar Admissions Information
    This page contains a useful overview and information on bar admissions. 

 Uniform Bar Exam (UBE)

  • Thirty-four jurisdictions are currently using or will soon adopt the UBE. They include (but are not limited to): DC, NY, NJ, CT, MA, NC. A list of all states that have adopted the UBE, along with the minimum passing score in each jurisdiction, can be found here.

  • Maryland has approved the adoption of the UBE, however, the date on which it will be first administered is not yet determined. The earliest administration would be July 2019.             
    • More information about Maryland’s adoption of the UBE can be found here.

  • Jurisdictions that use the UBE may also require applicants to complete a jurisdiction-specific law component.
    • Ex. New York - An applicant for admission in New York must complete an online course in New York-specific law, known as the New York Law Course (NYLC), and must take and pass an online examination, known as the New York Law Exam (NYLE)
    • Maryland will likely require applicants to complete a Maryland-specific component.