The Catholic University of America


2018 Columbus Awards Night

Dean's Awards

Marathon Awards
First Lap Award Melissa Hamann Awards
Mary E. Card Award Cardinal Hickey Award
Vincent Miraglia Award  Faculty & Staff Awards
Extra Mile Awards Columbus Awards

As the academic year winds down, the 2018 Columbus Award Night continued the longstanding spring tradition of honoring CUA Law students, faculty, and staff for their service to the law school community. The evening featured class skits, both live and recorded. Awards for Pro Bono service, professional excellence, and service to the law school were awarded to students, faculty and staff. 

The April 20th evening event was smoothly guided by Co-Master of Ceremonies Marcos Holguin (3L and Student Bar Association Vice President of Academic Affairs) and Ray Magorien (3L and SBA Director of Communications).

For the first time, the evening students took part in the skit competition. For their Office Space spoof, they earned the Joan Vorrasi award for Best Skit. The 3Ls did a play off The Office, the 2Ls had a stand up routine, and the 1Ls showed off their musical talents. 

The 2018 Columbus Award Night categories and winners are listed below. To view other photos from the evening's festivities click here.


Dean’s Awards



American Constitution Society Justin Ewaniszyk 

Black Law Students Association Kwambina Coker

Criminal Law Society Marcos Holguin

Council on Professional Conduct Sydny Bryan

Delta Theta Phi Sarah Ensenat

Democratic Law Students Association Justin Ewaniszyk

Evening Law Students Association Kayla Stuart

Environmental Law Society Katie Almen

The Federalist Society Alexander Mansfield

Habitat for Humanity Casey Hughes

Immigration and Refugee Interest Society Mary Viteri

Irish American Law Students Association Caitlin McClay

Law and Technology Students Association Paul St. Clair

Military and National Security Law Students Association Sam Jones

The Parent Group Tamara West

Phi Alpha Delta Brittany McNurlin

Republican National Lawyers Association Gina D'Andrea

Saint John Paul II Guild of Catholic Lawyers Anne Smith

Securities Law Students Association Macauley Venora
Securities Law Students Association Marie-Christine Levi

Sports and Entertainment Law Society Mark Dourmaskin

Street Law Elizabeth Ulan

Students for Public Interest Law Willie Burden
Students for Public Interest Law Cloyd Smith

Women's Law Caucus Kristin Mitcham
Women's Law Caucus Diana Alsabe

The Catholic University Law Review Thomas Gentry

Moot Court Association Ashley Greaf
































First Lap Awards
For dedicated service to the law school community during the first year of law study 

Michael Chavez
Jacqueline Cipolla
April Currey
Elisabeth Daigle
Taylor Dontje
William Gibson
Maribeth Guarino
Matthew Harkins
Peter Kim
Claudia Kopenski


Nneka Maceo
Paige Markley
Chadwick O’Neill
Gilbert Orsini
Joshua Perez
Shawn Randolph
Ashnelly Rodriguez
Rebecca Schisler
Rachel Thinnes
Kelsey Vincent
Kenny Walters
Sophia White
Mary E. Card Award for Outstanding Student Organization of the Year
Black Law Student's Association



Vincent Miraglia Award for Outstanding Service to the Student Bar Association
Marcos Holguin
Raymond Magorien



Extra Mile Awards
For outstanding service to the law school community
Diana Alsabe
Jennifer Brooker
David Brzozowski
Willie Burden
Rebecca Deverter
Katlyn Dulles
Gemma Forest
Ashley Greaf
Katelyn Holbrook
Caroline Lannon
Caitlin McClay
Brittany McNurlin
McKenzie Miller
Kristin Mitcham

Jordanne Miller
Sandra Sawan
Callan Smith
Vania Smith
Breck Story
Jae Terry
Elizabeth Ulan
Anne Ustynoski




Marathon Awards
For extraordinary and outstanding service to the law school community
Sydny Bryan
Patrick Burke
Kwambina Coker
Latena Hazard
Veda Rasheed
Elizabeth Sara Ross
Frank Russo
Kayla Stuart


Melissa Hamann Award for Outstanding Community Service by a Student Organization
Women's Law Caucus


Cardinal Hickey Community Service Award
Kwambina Coker
Veda Rasheed

Faculty and Staff Awards

Outstanding Professor for First Year Classes: Professor Kathryn Kelly
Most Supportive Professor: Professor Sarah Duggin
Outstanding Adjunct Professor: Professor Daniel Zachem
Outstanding Professor for Evening Classes: Professor Daniel Zachem
Professor of the Year: Professor Mary Leary
Staff Member of the Year: Steve Young
Administrator of the Year: Dean Stuart Schept


Columbus Awards
Frank Russo
Kayla Stuart