The Catholic University of America

Columbus Award Night Honors Student Achievement with Light Touch

Festooned with skits, songs, and lots of good-natured joking, the 2014 Columbus Award Night honored nearly 100 law school students, faculty, and staff on April 25 for their service to the law school community. A longstanding tradition at the Columbus School of Law each spring as the academic year winds to a close, the various awards bestowed recognize pro bono service, the embodiment of school spirit and mission, professional excellence, and service to the law school as the head of a student organization, among other things.
The Friday evening event was ably guided by Master of Ceremonies Jon Tabacoff, Class of 214 and Chancellor of the Moot Court Association.
The highly anticipated evening also permits students to blow off a little steam, with the three classes competing with each other to produce skits and parodies that poke gentle fun at aspects of law school life.
The wonderful creativity and slick execution of this year’s class sketches, “Lawyers in Love” from the 1Ls, “House of Cardinals” from the 2Ls, and “Breaking the Ice” from the third-year class, resulted in an unprecedented three-way tie for best production.
Beyond the humor, however, the message put out by the evening’s festivities is quite sincere. To all those who were recognized for the time and effort they put in to make the law school experience the best it can be for everyone, Columbus Award Night says simply “thank you, well done.”

  Back to top


2013-2014 Award Winners

Dean's Awards (Presidents of Student Organizations)
Josephine Vowels                Student Bar Association
Trevor Hehn     Advocates for Life
Meaghan Pedati    American Bar Association - Law Student Division
Michelle Lease   American Constitution Society
Kathryn Reusi    Asian Pacific American Law Students Association
Lawrence Laws   Black Law Students Association
Daniel Bidwell    Catholic University Law Review
Alexander Kalim   CommLaw Conspectus
Brian Indovina   Communications Law Students Association
Jarrod Schlenker   Council on Professional Conduct
Sabrina Filomena   Criminal Law Students Association
Ryan Patino   Delta Theta Phi
Sanchelle Charles    Delta Theta Phi
Megan Emmer    Evening Law Students Association
Christine Forgues    Evening Law Students Association
David Porras    Environmental Law Society
Angel Hernandez    The Federalist Society
Alex Marshall      Habitat for Humanity
Patricia Zermeno   Immigration and Refugee Interest Society
Emily Ittner   Immigration and Refugee Interest Society
Judy Muñoz   Immigration and Refugee Interest Society
Emily Malone    Innocence Project
Victoria Kawecki     Innocence Project
Albert Du     Intellectual Property Law Students Association
Thomas Bryan     International Law Students Association
Emma Noftz   Jewish Law Students Association
Jonathan Tabacoff     Jewish Law Students Association
Brian Farnkoff     Journal of Contemporary Health Law and Policy
Melissa Saldivar    Latin American Law Students Association
Patricia Zermeno    Latin American Law Students Association
Ana Victoria Perez   Latin American Law Students Association
Michelle Lease  
Law and Public Policy
Brian Farnkoff    Legal Services Society
Katherine Somers   Legal Services Society
Meaghan Pedati    Military and National Security Law Students Association
Michelle Lease   Military and National Security Law Students Association
Jonathan Tabacoff      Moot Court
Brittany Rawlinson   Phi Alpha Delta
Trevor Hehn   Pope John Paul II Guild of Catholic Lawyers
John Kruzel    Redirect
Bill Durdach   Republican National Lawyers Association
Trevor Hehn   Securities Law Students Association
Brian Farnkoff     Securities Law Students Association
Matt Stummer    Securities Law Students Association
Kate Maher   Securities Law Students Association
Alex Spanos    Society of Trial Advocates
Sabrina Vasa   South Asian Law Students Association
Annie Khan   South Asian Law Students Association
Mike Bzozowski   Sports and Entertainment Law Society
Meaghan Pedati    Street Law
Alexandra Jenik   Students for Public Interest Law
Emma Noftz    Students for Public Interest Law
Christina Battaglia   VIS Arbitration Moot Court Team
Josephine Vowels   VIS Arbitration Moot Court Team
Beth Barefoot    Women's Law Caucus
Mary Patterson   Women's Law Caucus

 Back to top


First Lap Award


For dedicated service to the law school community during the first year of law study

Nikki Chauriye Sally Lyle
Tim D’Elia Daniel O’Connell
Stephanie Fekete Tom O’Leary
Aryane Garansi
Alex Pacheco
Ted Goodman Amaru Sanchez
Matt Higginson Kimberly Ulan
Rich Kisielowski Parker William

Extra Mile Award

For outstanding service to the law school community

Emily Clarke Michelle Lease
Gypsy Clement Alex Marshall
Brittni Downs
Raha Mokhtari
Brandon Edmisten Meaghan Pedati
Hilary Eisenberg Jarrod Schlenker
Nicolette Endara Katherine Somers
Brian Farnkoff J. Inigo Soriano
Christine Forgues Matt Stummer
Karey Hart Sarah Waters
Aliba Henry Carla Weaver
Soojin Kim Caitlyn Yuschak


Marathon Awards
For extraordinary and outstanding service to the law school community
Sanchelle Charles Naka Rigaud
Megan Emmer Jonathan Tabacoff
Alexandra Jenik Josephine Vowels
Emma Noftz  


Mary E. Card Award
For Outstanding Student Organization of the Year
Evening Law Students Association 

 Back to top

Melissa Hamann Award
For Outstanding Community Service by a Student Organization 

Street Law


Vincent Miraglia Award
For Outstanding Service to the Student Bar Association
Sanchelle Charles




Jonathan Tabacoff



James Cardinal Hickey Award Community Service Award

Meaghan Pedati




 Back to top

Faculty and Staff Awards


Professor Geoffrey Watson- Outstanding Professor of First-Year Classes
Professor Antonio Perez- Outstanding Evening Professor

Professor Raymond Wyrsch - Outstanding Adjunct Professor
Professor Sarah Duggin
- Most Supportive Professor
Professor William Wagner - Plaque of Appreciation, ELSA
Len Davidson – Staff Person of the Year
Stuart Schept
- Administrator of the Year
Professor Geoffrey Watson
- Professor of the Year
Professors Leary and Rienzi
– Faculty Marshall for the 2014 Commencement 


2014-15 SBA Executive Board, ELSA, and Honor Board

SBA Executive Board

Amanda Azarian

Vice President of Academic Affairs
Jonathan Thomas

Vice Presidents of Financial Affairs
Brandon Edminsten

Vice President of Student Affairs
Alex Pacheco

Director of Communications
Conor MacCaffrey

3L Rep
Anthony Clark
Joseph Davis
Devin Williams
2L Rep
Megan Chester 
Theodore Goodman
Yoliara Ramos

   Back to top

Evening Law Students Association Executive Board


Christine Forgues
Vice President of ELSA 
Matthew Higginson
ELSA Community Service
Nicolette Endara

Honor Board
Stephanie Fekete
Adam Hare
Richard Kisielowski
Jessica Lau
Ryan Notorangelo
Jarrod Schlenker

 Back to top