The Catholic University of America

 Securities Law Program Website

Catholic University Law Team Takes Home the Silver
in Securities Moot Court Competition


Three Catholic University law students placed second among 28 teams in the 2012 Irving R. Kaufman Memorial Moot Court Competition, held March 23-25 at Fordham Law School in New York City.
The Kaufman Moot Court Competition is the premier securities moot in the nation, offering teams the opportunity to test appellate advocacy skills before leading jurists, securities regulators, academics, and practitioners. The Columbus School of Law team bested teams from Albany, Cardozo, Brooklyn, DePaul, Duke, Georgetown, NYU, St. John's, University of California- Davis, and Wisconsin, among others.  
The CUA Law team included (top, left-to-right) Sam Thomas (2L), Bobby Rhatigan (3L) and Kevin Link (3L).
“We came back with a big 2nd place silver cup and three very proud team members,” said Professor David Lipton, director of Catholic University’s Securities Law Program. “This group of three and the securities moot court chancellor have made me extraordinarily proud. They have made CUA shine.”
The Kaufman moot team was coached and otherwise assisted by both current students and alumni, all members of the extended CUA Law securities community.  
They included Justin Nazari (3L), the securities moot court chancellor, and Margaret McGuire, 2002, senior counsel to the director, Division of Enforcement, SEC, who was assisted by Elliott Smith and Jonathan Jachym, both class of 2007. All are former students in the securities law program.
"In the 12 years of participation in this program, we have won twice, been in the final two twice, and made it to other final rounds of competition six times. We have motivated students, a motivated coach and motivated alumni. Those are each key ingredients in our securities program," said Lipton.
The final round panel of judges for 2012 included Judge Paul J. Kelly, Jr., of the United States Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit; Chief Judge Alex Kozinski, of the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit; Judge Boyce F. Martin, Jr., of the United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit; Judge Richard A. Posner of the United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit; Judge Jane Richards Roth, of the United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit; and Commissioner Troy A. Paredes, United States Securities and Exchange Commission.