The Catholic University of America



L-R:  Ian Forbes, Melody Cheung, Ellen Biltz and
Jessica Elder represented CUA Law

CUA Law Team Reaches Semifinals
at 2011 National Telecommunications Moot Court Competition

A Columbus School of Law team consisting of 2L Ian Forbes and 3L Melody Cheung reached the semifinal round of the 2011 National Telecommunications Moot Court Competition, hosted at Catholic University’s law school on Feb. 4 and 5th.  

Nine law schools from across the country fielded teams in the prestigious competition, which was ultimately won by the University of Colorado Law School.
The competition provides students the opportunity to argue before private and government practitioners in the communications field. This year's competition problem involved First and Fifth Amendment issues presented by a statute to prohibit the copyright registration of indecent broadcast material. 
Originally established by the Institute for Communications Law Studies and the Federal Communications Bar Association, the 2011 contest turned out to be one of the largest competitions that CUA has hosted so far.   
The two-day event was largely organized by 3L Rekha Chandrasekher, vice chancellor for the 2011 National Telecommunications Moot Court Competition, with assistance from members of the CUA Law Moot Court Association and volunteers from the Communications Law Students Association. 
The Columbus School of Law entered two teams in the moot court competition. In addition to Forbes and Cheung, a second team represented CUA Law consisting of 2L Jessica Elder and 2L Ellen Biltz. Jay All, Gregory Egan, and Matthew Star, all 3L students in the Institute for Communications Law Studies, served as team coaches.
More than 50 distinguished area communications law practitioners volunteered to serve as brief judges, preliminary round judges, and semifinal and final round judges.
Participating Law Schools

George Washington University School of Law
Georgetown University Law Center
Howard University School of Law
Syracuse University College of Law
University of Baltimore School of Law
University of Colorado Law School
Indiana University School of Law- Bloomington
The Catholic University of America, Columbus School of Law
Notre Dame Law School