CUA Law Notable Alumni header

CUA Law alumni are leaders, innovators, and pioneers for whom a glass ceiling was meant to be
broken. They are game-changers making their mark in a variety of fields including the judiciary,
senior federal service, academia, the Armed Forces, and many more. Our graduates below represent
a small sampling of alumni that have distinguished themselves. To view an updated list of
CUA Law alumni in the news, please click here.

Armed Forces


Elective Office


Professional Sports

Senior Federal Office


John E. Murray Jr., J.D. 1958
Chancellor and Professor of Law at Duquesne University. Murray is a former dean of the University of Pittsburgh School Of Law and the Villanova University School of Law, as well as a former president of Duquesne University.

Jonathan Lash, M.A. 1972, J.D. 1974
President of Hampshire College (MA)

(back to top)

Armed Forces

Brigadier General (Ret.) Coral Wong Pietsch, J.D. 1974
The first Asian American woman to reach the rank of Brigadier General in the United States Army. Since 2012, General Pietsch has served on the United States Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims.

Colonel Mary Lou Keener, USAF (Ret.), J.D. 1982
Former General Counsel of the Department of Veterans Affairs. In 2000, Colonel Keener served with Department of Defense as Deputy Assistant Secretary of the Air Force (Force Management and Personnel). She is now retired and serves as an Outside Board Member to the Military Order of the Purple Heart Service Foundation

(back to top)


Paul A. Serini, J.D. 1983
Executive Vice President, XLHealth Corporation (now a UnitedHealthcare company). XLHealth provides chronic care solutions for Medicare beneficiaries and providers that encourage management of chronic diseases such as diabetes and heart failure.

Paul M. Bisaro, J.D. 1989
President and Chief Executive Officer of Actavis since 2007. Actavis is a global, specialty pharmaceutical company focused on developing, manufacturing and distributing generic, brand and bio-similar products.

(back to top)

Elective Office

Thomas R. Harkin, J.D. 1972
United States Senator from Iowa since 1985 and a member of the Democratic Party. He previously served in the United States House of Representatives (1975–1985). Harkin is ranks as the 7th most senior U.S. Senator overall.

Kathy Hochul, J.D. 1983
Member of the U.S. House of Representatives from New York’s 26th district from June 2011-January 2013. She currently serves as a government relations specialist with Buffalo based M&T Bank.

Robert A. Watson, J.D. 1986
Republican Member of the Rhode Island House of Representatives since 1992, representing the 30th District.  Former House Minority Leader.

Robert Patrick "Bob" Casey, Jr., J.D. 1988

Senior United States Senator from Pennsylvania, and a member of the Democratic Party. He previously served as Pennsylvania Treasurer and Pennsylvania Auditor General.

Susan Longley, J.D. 1988
Maine State Senator from the 11th District from 1994-2002.  Currently Judge of Probate for Waldo County, ME.

Jeffrey S. Chiesa, J.D. 1990
Former U.S. Senator from New Jersey and former New Jersey Attorney General. He is currently a Member of the firm at Wolff Samson PC. 

(back to top)


The Honorable Richard P. Conaboy, J.D. 1950

Chief Judge, U.S. District Court for the Middle District of Pennsylvania from 1989-1992.  Senior judge, 1992-present.  Judge Conaboy also serves as Chairman of the U.S. Sentencing Commission.

The Honorable William J. Nealon, L.L.B. 1951
Senior Judge of the United States District Court for the Middle District of Pennsylvania; served as Chief Judge from 1976 - 1989. President John F. Kennedy appointed him to the post in 1962, and he is the longest-serving district judge in the history of the 3rd Circuit. The William J. Nealon Federal Building and United States Courthouse, located in Scranton, is named in his honor.

Judge Colleen Kollar-Kotelly, J.D. 1968
Judge for the United States District Court for the District of Columbia and former presiding judge of the Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Court.

The Honorable Charles Shaw, Jr., J.D. 1974
Senior District Judge on the United States District Court for the Eastern District of Missouri.

The Honorable Peggy A. Quince, J.D. 1975
Justice for the Florida Supreme Court.

Edward J. Damich, J.D. 1976
Judge on the United States Court of Federal Claims. Served as Chief Judge from 2002-2009.

James G. Gilbert, J.D. 1988
Chief Administrative Law Judge,  United States Postal Service.

(back to top)


Alice Fisher, J.D. 1992

Managing Partner, Washington, D.C. office of Latham & Watkins; former Assistant Attorney General for the U.S. Department of Justice; named one of DC’s “Most Powerful Women” in Washingtonian magazine, 2013.

(back to top)


J. Paul Molloy, J.D. 1965

Co-founder and CEO, Oxford House, a chain of more than 1,200 residential group homes throughout the United States that support recovery from alcohol and drug addictions.

B. Jeffrey Cravath, J.D. 1988
Former Senior Vice President, Fannie Mae. He is currently a Senior Advisor at The Collingwood Group, LLC.

(back to top)

Professional Sports

Arthur N. Fuccillo, J.D. 1978

Executive Vice President, Lerner Enterprises, and partner, Washington Nationals professional baseball team.   

Michael J. Bidwell, J.D. 1990
President, NFL's Arizona Cardinals.  

(back to top)

Senior Federal Service

Richard J. Favretto
, J.D. 1966
Former Deputy Assistant Attorney General and Acting Assistant Attorney General, Antitrust Division of the US Department of Justice; current partner, Mayer Brown.

Charlene Barshefsky, J.D. 1975
United States Trade Representative, the country's top trade negotiator, 1997 to 2001. Currently a partner at the law firm of Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr.

Christine Luchok Fallon, J.D. 1977
Reporter of Decisions, Supreme Court of the United States.  She is the first woman to hold the position.

Phyllis Borzi, J.D. 1978
Assistant Secretary for Employee Benefits Security of the United States Department of Labor, the official in charge of the Employee Benefits Security Administration.

Mary Anne Gibbons, J.D. 1980
General Counsel and Executive Vice President, United States Postal Service, 1999-2013.  She is now retired.

Naomi C. Earp, J.D. 1982
Member, U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission.  Served as Chair of the Commission from 2006-2009.

Kathleen Abernathy, J.D. 1983
Former FCC Commissioner. Currently Chief Legal Officer and Executive Vice President, Regulatory and Government Affairs, Frontier Communications.

Nessa Feddis, J.D. 1983
Senior Vice President and Deputy Chief Counsel for Consumer Protection and Payments,  American Bankers Association's Center for Regulatory Compliance.

John S. Shaw, J.D. 1995
Assistant Secretary, U.S. Department of Energy, 2004-2006; named one of the top lobbyists in Washington D.C., and currently serving as Executive Director and CEO, Natural Products Association.

Daniel M. Gallagher, J.D. 1999
Commissioner, U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission.

(back to top)


Contact Us/Directory| Copyright Information | Speech Enabled | Disability Accomodations | Student Safety
The Catholic University of America Columbus School of Law • 3600 John McCormack Road, N.E. • Washington, DC 20064

CUA Law home page