The Catholic University of America

Spring & Summer 2014 Hours

Access Policy

Regular Hours

Regular hours are in effect January 8 - April 28, 2014. Reading & exam hours begin April 29, 2014.**

 Monday - Thursday  7:30am - 11:45pm
 Friday  7:30am - 8:45pm
 Saturday  9:00am - 8:45pm
 Sunday  Noon - 11:45pm

Library staff begin clearing the library 15 minutes prior to closing.

To determine whether the library is open during inclement weather, dial 202-319-5155 and press 1.

** The Law Library is restricted to CUA Law Students ONLY during the reading and examination period.  Students must use their CUA I.D.s to enter the law library.

Holidays & Summer

Saturday, January 18 9:00am - 8:45pm
Sunday, January 19 Noon - 11:45pm
Monday, January 20 9:00am - 11:45pm
 Presidents Day
Saturday, February 16 9:00am - 8:45pm
Sunday, February 17 Noon - 11:45pm
Monday, February 18 7:30am - 11:45pm
Spring Break
Monday, March 10 - Thursday, March 13 9:00am - 10:45pm
Friday, March 14 9:00am - 8:45pm
Saturday, March 15 9:00am - 8:45pm
Sunday, March 16 Noon - 11:45pm
Easter Break
Thursday, April 17 9:00am - 10:45pm
Friday, April 18 9:00am - 8:45pm
Saturday, April 19 9:00am - 8:45pm
Sunday, April 20 CLOSED
Monday, April 21 9:00am - 11:45pm
Reading & Exam Period **
Tuesday, April 29 - Wednesday, May 7   7:30am - 1:45am
Thursday, May 8 - Sunday, May 11   7:30am - 11:45pm
Monday, May 12   7:30am - 10:45pm

** The Law Library is restricted to CUA Law Students ONLY during the reading and examination period.  Students must use their CUA I.D.s to enter the law library.

Summer

Summer hours are in effect Tuesday, May 13 - Saturday, August 16. Fall hours begin Sunday, August 17.

Monday - Thursday 9:00am - 10:45pm
Friday 9:00am - 7:45pm
Saturday 9:00am - 4:45pm
Sunday Noon - 7:45pm
 Memorial Day
Saturday, May 24 9:00am - 4:45pm
Sunday, May 25 Noon - 7:45pm
Monday, May 26 CLOSED
July 4                                         CLOSED

Access Policy

Access to the law library is restricted to the following persons in the order listed below:

  1. CUA Law School students, faculty and staff
  2. CUA Department of Library & Information Science (LIS) students, faculty and staff
  3. CUA Law alumni
  4. Law students from other schools
  5. Bar members
  6. CUA non-law faculty, staff and students who need to use the library collection for research
  7. Persons who want to use the Law Library’s U.S. Government Depository materials
  8. Persons with a legitimate need to use the library collection for research purposes. The legitimacy of the need will be assessed by the reference librarian on duty at the time if necessary.

The Law Library is a research institution and is available to patrons who need to perform legal research. The only patrons permitted to study in the library are:

  1. CUA Law School students, faculty and staff
  2. CUA Department of Library & Information Science (LIS) students, faculty and staff
  3. CUA Law alumni
  4. Law students from other schools
  5. Students studying for the bar exam

The law library doors are locked all hours the law library is open. CUA Law and LIS patrons should use their CUA IDs to enter. All other patrons: please buzz the intercom for admittance.

Visitors

Visitors must comply with the Law Library's Visitor Guidelines. Visitors must sign the Visitor Register upon entering the law library.