The Catholic University of America

Part-Time Faculty



The Honorable Fred B. Ugast

B.A., 1945, The Catholic University of America; M.A., 1946, The Catholic University of America; LL.B., 1950, Harvard Law School; Chief Judge (retired), D.C. Superior Court; former president of the John Carroll Society; former chairman of the Board of Anchor Mental Health Association.


Distinguished Lecturers

The Honorable Sylvia Bacon

B.A., 1952, Vassar College; LL.B., 1956, Harvard Law School; LL.M., 1959, Georgetown University Law Center; Judge (retired), D.C. Superior Court.

The Honorable Edward J. Damich

Distinguished Lecturer in Intellectual Property Law — A.B., 1970, St. Stephen's College; J.D., 1976, The Catholic University of America; LL.M., 1983, and J.S.D., 1991, Columbia University; Judge, U.S. Court of Federal Claims.

Frederick H. Degnan

B.A., 1970, College of the Holy Cross; J.D., 1973, Georgetown University Law Center; Partner, King & Spalding.

Lesley Fair

A.B., 1978, University of Notre Dame; J.D., 1981, University of Texas School of Law; Senior Attorney, Bureau of Consumer Protection, Federal Trade Commission.

Stephen M. Goldman

A.B., 1968, Duke University; J.D., 1971, University of Michigan; D.Phil., 1979, Oxford University; Counsel, Sands Anderson P.C.

John E. Higgins Jr.

A.B., 1961, Boston College; J.D., 1964, Boston University; M.S., 1970, Cornell University; Deputy General Counsel, National Labor Relations Board.

David Irwin

Distinguished Lecturer in Communications Law — B.A., 1963, American University; J.D., 1966, Washington College of Law, American University; Partner, Irwin, Campbell & Tannenwald, P.C.

Gerald Malia

B.S., 1954, J.D., 1958, LL.M., 1959, Georgetown University; Principal, law offices of Gerald A. Malia. 

Carlos Ortiz-Miranda

B.A., 1976, University of Puerto Rico; J.D., 1980, Antioch School of Law; LL.M., 1983, Georgetown University; Associate General Counsel, United States Conference of Catholic Bishops.

Thomas E. Patton

J.D., 1965, A.B., 1962, The Catholic University of America; Partner, Butzel Long Tighe Patton, PLLC.

Theodore Sky

A.B., 1956, Dickinson College; LL.B., 1959, Harvard University; Retired Senior Counsel to the General Counsel of the United States Department of Education.

The Honorable Loren A. Smith

B.A., 1966, Northwestern University; J.D., 1969, Northwestern University School of Law; Senior Judge, United States Court of Federal Claims.

Harris Weinstein

S.B., 1956, S.M., 1958, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; LL.B., 1961, Columbia University Law School; Retired Partner, Covington & Burling LLP.

The Honorable Roger M. Whelan

A.B., 1959, J.D., 1962, Georgetown University; United States Bankruptcy Judge (1972–83); Private Practice; Senior Counsel, Cooter, Mangold, Deckelbaum & Karas. 

Raymond J. Wyrsch

B.A., 1967, Seton Hall University; J.D., 1972, University of Houston; LL.M., 1977, George Washington University Law School; M.B.A., 1982, The George Washington University.