The Catholic University of America

L-R: Dean Veryl Miles, Danielle A. Strait, editor-in-chief of volume 25, and journal co-founder Professor George P. Smith.

Health Law Journal Celebrates 25 Years

On April 4, Dean Veryl Miles hosted a reception in the Keelty Atrium of the law school honoring the 25th anniversary of the Journal of Contemporary Health Law and Policy. Founded in 1984 by Professor George P. Smith and the late dean of the law school, Steven P. Frankino, the Journal has published consecutively since its founding.

Giovanna M. Cinelli, a partner and chair of the export control practices group at Patton Boggs LLP, and editor-in-chief of volume two of the Journal, was the principal speaker at the reception. She shared her experiences and challenges as a founding editor and explained how the insights, practical research and writing skills that she acquired from her work on the Journal have directly shaped her work and professional skills as a lawyer.

Other speakers included Dean Miles, Professor Smith and Danielle A. Strait, editor in chief of volume 25, as well as John W. Leonard, the editor- in-chief of volume 26. The Anniversary Editorial Board honored Professor Smith's service by dedicating volume 25 in his honor and presented him with a crystal trophy.

Professor Smith, in turn, presented outstanding recognition awards to the following members of the Health Law Journal for their work in sustaining its success:

Catherine A. Annas
John M. Aragona
Mary Jo Carden
Giovanna M. Cinelli
Patrick T. Clendenen
Ralph C. Conte
Elizabeth Schmidtlein Crockett
John C. Dougherty
John E. Durkin
Rogert F. Friedman
Tal S. Grinblat
Frank J. Hearn Jr.
Brian P. Knestout
Gregory L. Lahr
Christopher E. Guttman-McCabe
Robert E. McGough
Monique Choiniere Miller
Nicole M. Montaldo
Frank H. Morgan
Gerald F. Murphy
Kenneth J. Nunnencamp
Nancy M. Palermo
Christopher M. Pilkerton
James P. Prenetta Jr.
Paul J. Riley IV
Patricia Stolfi
Steven J. Stone
Danielle M. Strait
Anne Elizabeth Sullivan
Michael W. Sweeny
Drew S. Tannenbaum
Yann H.H. van Geertruden
Thomas Vecchio
Kevin M. Walsh
James R. Wedeking
Alan N. Yount

Joan S. Vorrasi, director of the Office of Student Life and Special Events, was also given a special recognition award for her work in support of the Journal over the past 25 years.