The Catholic University of America

L-R: Cole Milliard, Evelyn Lombardo, and Dale Goldstein.

CUA Trio Awarded Best Brief at Sutherland Cup Moot Court Competition

Cole Milliard (2L), Dale Goldstein (2L) and Evelyn Lombardo (3L) were recognized with the Best Brief award at the 60th Annual George B. Sutherland Cup Moot Court Competition, held on March 20 and 21, 2009. Hosted by The Catholic University of America Columbus School of Law, the competition is the oldest interscholastic moot court competition in the United States.

The semi-final teams included those from CUA, Duke, George Mason, and the University of Virginia. The teams argued in front of a three-judge panel that included Hon. David Boynton, Montgomery County Maryland Circuit Court, Hon. James Sarsfield, Montgomery County Maryland District Court, and Hon. Mary Donovan, Ohio Court of Appeals.

Duke and George Mason advanced to the final round and faced a new panel of jurists that included Columbus School of Law alumna Peggy R. Quince, 1975, chief justice of the Florida Supreme Court.

The Duke University Law School team was the ultimate victor among this year's field of nine teams.

The competition concluded with an awards reception. Moot court Chancellor Jeremy Prose and Sutherland Cup Vice Chancellor John McDonough presented the awards. Dean Veryl Miles thanked the final panel of judges and Professor Ralph Rohner offered remarks on the history of the competition. Catholic University's team was coached by 3L Ken Clendenin.